Strengthening Constitutional Self-Government

No Left Turns

Electoral College

I am off to the Ohio Senate chamber this morning as a "distinguished guest" to observe the electors vote. The first Ohio electors voted for Thomas Jefferson in 1804. The process has remained essentially the same since then. Votes are cast for president and vice president by the twenty electors. Secretary of State Ken Blackwell is the presiding officer and he then signs a "transmittal" of the vote and sends it to the president of the U.S. Senate (V.P. Cheney). Cheney will announce the national totals on January 6th. I addressed the electors four years ago. This time John C. Green (Bliss Institute, University of Akron) will do the honors and I have been asked to say a few words at the lunch that follows. I’ll report on the event later tonight.

Discussions - No Comments Yet

Leave a Comment

* denotes a required field

No TrackBacks
TrackBack URL:

Warning: include(/srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/sd/nlt-blog/_includes/promo-main.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/2004/12/electoral-college.php on line 383

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/sd/nlt-blog/_includes/promo-main.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/sp/php7.2/lib/php') in /srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/2004/12/electoral-college.php on line 383