Strengthening Constitutional Self-Government

No Left Turns

Spiderman Snares the White House: National Humanities and Arts Medals Winners

The President
recognized familiar names such as NR’s Rick Brookhiser, Lincoln scholars Gabor Borritt and Harold Holzer, Manhattan Institute’s Myron Magnet, the John Templeton Foundation, and cartoonist (and Spiderman creator) Stan Lee. The day will come when we can look forward to our colleagues Steven Hayward and Peter Lawler receiving such recognition, but that will require a conservative President (besides more books of theirs). Good health (with or without the aid of science), guys! In any event, as the instance of Harry Jaffa shows, the omissions are often more instructive and telling than the awardees.

Discussions - 2 Comments

It's a shame that Dr. Jaffa hasn't been given either the Humanities award or the Medal of Freedom. This administration has given a few to conservatives, but by God, they've been stingy about it. The omission of Jaffa at his age is unforgivable.

Jaffa's award will rank right up there with George Tenet getting the presidential medal of freedom.

Leave a Comment

* denotes a required field

No TrackBacks
TrackBack URL:

Warning: include(/srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/sd/nlt-blog/_includes/promo-main.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/2008/11/spiderman-snares-the-white-house-national-humanities-and-arts-medals-winners.php on line 441

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/sd/nlt-blog/_includes/promo-main.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/opt/sp/php7.2/lib/php') in /srv/users/prod-php-nltashbrook/apps/prod-php-nltashbrook/public/2008/11/spiderman-snares-the-white-house-national-humanities-and-arts-medals-winners.php on line 441